Home Car AccidentsDo You Need Car Insurance In Mississippi?

Do You Need Car Insurance In Mississippi?

Aug 1, 2018
By: Richard Schwartz & Associates

It is important to remember that reckless drivers aren’t the only people on the road who are at risk of being in an accident, all drivers, even those who are cautious, need to have enough insurance to cover them in case they are ever in an accident.

Drivers in the state of Mississippi are required by law to have car insurance. However, you don’t need car insurance to register your vehicle or apply for a Mississippi driver’s license. Although there are laws to prevent people from driving without insurance, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that one out of every five motorists in Mississippi is uninsured. In this blog, we explain what you need to know about car insurance in the state of Mississippi.

Insurance Requirements

Mississippi drivers are required to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance provides coverage for the other vehicle and/or driver when you are at fault for an accident.

The following are the required minimum coverage amounts for drivers in Mississippi:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
  • $25,000 per accident for property damage.

Optional Types of Car Insurance

Insurers in the state of Mississippi offer several other optional types of coverage, which include:

  • Collision Coverage: Covers damage to your car that was caused by hitting another vehicle or object.
  • Comprehensive Coverage: Covers damages your car sustained from non-accident-related incidents or factors, like theft or harsh weather conditions.
  • Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Pays your expenses if you are involved in a collision with a driver who doesn’t have insurance or has insufficient insurance.
  • Medical Payment Coverage: Also known as “med pay,” this type of coverage helps pay your medical expenses after an accident.

Rental car coverage, loan/lease gap coverage, and roadside assistance/towing coverage are also types of car insurance that are optional for Mississippi drivers.

Insurance Violations

Drivers who are caught by law enforcement without car insurance face strict fines and penalties.

  • Driving Without Car Insurance: Carries a $1,000 fine and a possible suspension of your driver’s license for 1 year. If you purchase insurance after being cited and you show proof of insurance in court or when you pay your fine, the amount of the fine will be reduced and your license won’t be suspended.
  • Failure to Show Proof of Insurance: If you are pulled over and don’t have proof of insurance, you can face a citation and fines. If you were covered at the time you were cited, you can show proof of this in court and your fine and court fees will be waived.
  • SR22: In order to prevent suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, or to have a suspended or revoked driver’s license reinstated, you will have to file an SR22 form. This form is a certification filed by your auto insurance company that sates you will maintain the minimum liability insurance for a specific amount of time.

Talk to Our Car Accident Lawyers

At Richard Schwartz & Associates Injury Lawyer, we understand that it’s difficult enough to focus in recovering from an accident injury without also having to deal with insurance companies. If you or someone you know has been injured in a car accident, you should immediately consult with our team of accident attorneys to discuss how to secure the compensation you deserve.

Richard Schwartz & Associates Logo
Call Richard Schwartz & Associates Injury Lawyers, P.A. at 601-988-8888 or contact us online today.
Follow Us

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

© 2023 All Rights Reserved.