Steps Following an Out-Of-State Car Accident
Car accidents are not limited to residents within the same state. Out-of-state auto accidents happen all the time and can leave you uncertain about what to do next. So, what happens when you have an out-of-state accident?
Car wrecks involving out-of-state drivers are handled just like other car accidents. The same critical steps should be taken, including:
- Call the police.
- Seek medical attention.
- Take photos of the scene.
- Gather witness statements and exchange contact information.
- Exchange insurance information with the drivers involved.
- Notify your insurance company.
- Obtain a copy of the accident report.
How Can Hiring an Experienced Local Attorney Help?
While these steps are straightforward, a car accident case across state lines can be complex. That’s why it is helpful to consult an experienced car accident lawyer. Call Richard Schwartz & Associates for your free consultation, so we can discuss the details of your case and make it less confusing. When you hire our team, we will review your insurance policy and talk to the car insurance company for you. We will handle all the details of your insurance claim, so you don’t have to.
Our lawyers have over 40 years of experience helping accident victims injured in out-of-state car accidents. We understand the fine print of auto insurance coverage and the laws of the state where your accident occurred. We will assess the accident scene, help determine fault, and ensure you receive all the medical care you need after your accident. Below, we explain which state’s rules apply when an out-of-state car accident occurs.
What if an Out-of-State Driver Hits You in Mississippi?
In almost all car accident cases, we follow the laws within the state where the collision occurred. So, for example, if you’re hit in Mississippi by an out-of-state driver, the case will fall under Mississippi’s jurisdiction, and your case will follow Mississippi’s “comparative negligence” rule. Comparative negligence means that two drivers may be found at fault, to some extent, for the accident.
So, if a Mississippi resident is 15% at fault in an accident involving an out-of-state driver, the out-of-state driver’s insurance company would be responsible for paying the Mississippi resident 85% of the total damages (100% minus 15%).
What Happens if a Driver Hits You Outside of Mississippi?
If you’re a resident of Mississippi and you have a car accident outside Mississippi, the fault rules of the state where the accident occurred will apply. For instance, if you’re from Mississippi and suffer injuries in a crash in Louisiana, your case falls under Louisiana jurisdiction. Therefore, Louisiana insurance rules apply.
Why is it Important to Hire a Personal Injury Attorney?
An out-of-state car accident can be challenging to navigate on your own and leave you with many questions. Our Mississippi attorneys have 40 years of experience handling some of the most complex personal injury cases. Near or far, we can help determine who is responsible for your injuries and help you pursue the compensation you deserve to pay for medical bills, lost wages, and property damage. Call for your free consultation today.