The Center for Disease Control reports that distracted driving causes nine deaths and another 1,000 injuries in the U.S. each day. Because of this, many states have enacted laws to help eliminate distracted driving. Most involve the use of cellular and other electronic devices while driving.
Below, we discuss distracted driving laws in the state of Mississippi and the consequences of violating these important laws of the road.
Talking on a Cellphone
Mississippi has no restrictions when it comes to making or receiving a phone call or talking on the phone while behind the wheel. There are two exceptions: bus drivers transporting at least one minor and learner drivers are not allowed to use cell phones at all.
Text Messaging and Other Device Use
Until recently, Mississippi had very lax laws when it came to cell phone usage behind the wheel. That changed in 2015 when Mississippi became the 45th state to ban texting while driving.
Those who violate this law in Mississippi face a $100 texting ticket. Bus drivers and learner drivers, who are not allowed to use a cell phone at all, face $500 fines for texting while driving. If someone is injured as a result of a driver texting or communicating on social media while driving, the fine goes up to $1,000.
It’s important to remember that these fines are just a small fraction of the damage that can arise due to a car crash caused by a distracted driver.
Other Forms of Distractions
There are many other forms of driving distractions that are not necessarily illegal, such as:
Eating or drinking
Changing a CD
Talking to passengers
However, remember that these distractions can still cause drivers to break traffic laws or drive recklessly. This can lead to careless or reckless driving convictions and monetary fines. Because of this, drivers should always get themselves situated before hitting the road to prevent distractions behind the wheel.
If you or a loved one is injured in a distracted driving accident, turn to Richard Schwartz & Associates Injury Lawyer for legal representation. Our team of skilled personal injury attorneys will look at the evidence of your case to determine liable parties and fight hard for your financial recovery.
Contact our firm at (601) 869-0696 to schedule your free case review!